Macbeth

Standard

I stumbled upon a blog on Macbeth. I enjoyed reading it. I loved most of this author’s other posts. He has a penchant for brevity and an interesting picture-essay style, while bringing out unusually interesting points to light.

I have loved Macbeth since I was a child when I bumped into this musty book in the bookshelf, a relic from my mother’s college days. I was intrigued by the plates, particularly the witches near their cauldron, Lady Macbeth’s sleepwalking, “I have done the deed”, etc. Some of the verses I committed to memory have stayed with me ever since. ‘Fair is foul and foul is fair’,is one such.

I did go through the book a few times over on a timeline, when I was around 18 or twenty, and once more later. Owing to my familiarity, I would place Macbeth as the best of Shakespearean plays. However, I owe it to this author for very interesting information such as Shakespeare’s clown characters. I have often wondered how these scenes fit into an otherwise somber story-line. Also the picture of Dunsinance Hill is reminiscent of Shelly’s Ozymandias: there is just a bare hill where all the story played out in intensity!

However, I the historical Macbeth seems to be one of the best loved of ancient Scottish kings. Shakespeare installed a devious plan to malign his reputation in England at a time when the English probably wanted suzerainty over her, and the Englishmen would have been enticed by such tales. The United Kingdom was formed soon after Shakespeare. Shakespeare’s timing and selection of the plot were clever, to say the least. Would some expand this line of thought.

I am very curious. Thanks in advance.

6 responses »

  1. “I loved most of this author’s other blogs. ”

    If it is my blog that is meant, I think this should read “…most of this author’s other posts” (not “blogs”), because I do have other blogs, but they are different: one is in Spanish, and I cannot handle Spanish very well, and the other one is minimally at Blogspot only to allow me to comment on Blogspot blogs without getting hampered by Google trying to hamper outsiders.

    In case the “interesting information on Sh.’s clown characters” refers to the idea that they are meant to prevent the plot from becoming kitschy, I think I read that in something about Goethe’s Faust, where Faust talks to his lonely self about suicide and gets interrupted by a silly servant who wants to talk about Kultur.

  2. Sorry, are you new here?
    I see you do not yet have your avatater connected to your name, so that you will be hard to find for people who have never been here.
    I am in a hurry now but will come back another day to tell you how to connect your name to your avatar.

  3. !!!
    Now your avatar points to a blog which wordpress says does not exist!
    Some time ago WordPress completely re-organized their “dashboard”, and so I could not find the place where you state how you want to be linked, but I will most certainly find it. Sorry about the delay. Still in a hurry.
    The drawing of your avatar is very nice.

  4. I found only 1 way, and I am not sure it is the one I mean. On the right of the screen at the top, you see your name. If you click on that, you get a menu where there is an option of “Edit my profile”. Did you fill that out?

    However, in the meantime you seem to have found a way of linking your name to a blog that doesn’t exist:
    alexchathoth.wordpress.com and so the only way to find you is to look up yesterday’s navigation history.

I value your views. What do you think?

