The secret : I can move the mountains!

Standard

“Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:20

This was the first puzzle in my life when I was about 8 or 10 years of age. My grand father’s friend told me that I could move the mountains if I wanted. I was really very anxious to know more. From his appearance, I didn’t think he was joking.

I made a quick conclusion that it was beyond me, or beyond anybody else for that matter.

But,it is not easy to toss that idea aside as the bible is replete with similar amazing statements.

Everything is possible for one who believes.”
Mark 9:22-24

Philippians 4:13

I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Here is Evander Holyfield. He uses the above verse in signing autographs and displays on his T-shirts.

He is a former World Heavy Weight boxing champion.

Matthew 21:21
Jesus replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself intothe sea,’ and it will be done.”

Mark 11:23
“Truly I tell you, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in their heart but believes that what they say will happen, it will be done for them.”

Matthew 9:22
Jesus turned and saw her. “Take heart, daughter,” he said, “your faith has healed you.” And the woman was healed at that moment.

Luke 18:42
Jesus said to him, “Receive your sight; your faith has healedyou.”

Matthew 21:22
If you believeyou will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.”

Now I am switching gears.

This book and a film appeared in 2006, which were huge hits. The author Rhonda Byrne was trying to sound as if she has secret information from ancient texts that are long gone, or forgotten. “The Great Secret of Life is the law of attraction.”

Now you can google ‘law of attraction’ and find 18 million sites about it! It is saying that we could have anything, material or physical or spiritual,  if we consciously attract it to us.

Isn’t is amazing that the secret is becoming popular. Recently I heard a series of sermons in a church here about what the pastor called ‘the mountain-moving faith’.

Indeed these so called newly-revealed secrets are popping out of  the bible from so many pages.

What are your thoughts?

I value your views. What do you think?

